China Development Research Foundation   |  APP Download   |   中文   |   Register   |   Login
Time:March 23-25, 2019
Beijing Diaoyutai State Guesthouse
Sponsor:Development Research Center of the State Council
Organiser:China Development Research Foundation
CDF WeChat
CDRF Weibo
Chinese Delegates International Delegates Participating Organisations

Back International Delegates List>

Lawrence Juen-Yee LAU

Ralph and Claire Landau Professor of Economics The Chinese University of Hong Kong Scholars

Professor Lawrence J. Lau received his B.S. degree (with Great Distinction) in Physics from Stanford University in 1964 and his M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in Economics from the University of California at Berkeley in 1966 and 1969 respectively.  He joined the faculty of the Department of Economics at Stanford University in 1966, becoming Professor of Economics in 1976 and the first Kwoh-Ting Li Professor in Economic Development at Stanford University in 1992.  From 1992 to 1996, he served as a Co-Director of the Asia-Pacific Research Center at Stanford University, and from 1997 to 1999, as the Director of the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research.  He became Kwoh-Ting Li Professor in Economic Development, Emeritus, upon his retirement from Stanford University in 2006.  From 2004 to 2010, Professor Lau served as Vice-Chancellor (President) of The Chinese University of Hong Kong. From 2010 to 2014, he served as Chairman of CIC International (Hong Kong) Co., Limited.  Since 2007, Professor Lau has also been serving concurrently as Ralph and Claire Landau Professor of Economics at The Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Professor Lau was a member of 11th and 12th National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference (and a Vice-Chairman of its Subcommittee of Economics).  He currently serves as a Vice-Chairman of the China Center for International Economic Exchanges, a Vice-President of the China Science Center of the International Eurasian Academy of Sciences, an Adviser to the National Bureau of Statistics of the People’s Republic of China, a member of the International Advisory Council of the China Development Bank and Chairman of the Board of Directors of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (Shenzhen) Advanced Finance Institute. Professor Lau also serves as a member of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Exchange Fund Advisory Committee, a member of its Currency Board and Investment Sub-Committees and Chairman of its Governance Sub-Committee, as well as a member of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council (HKTDC) Belt and Road Committee.   In addition, he also serves as a Member and Chairman of the Prize Recommendation Committee for the LUI Che Woo Prize, a Vice-Chairman of Our Hong Kong Foundation, as well as a member of the Board of Directors of the Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation for International Scholarly Exchange, Taipei.  He currently serves as an independent non-executive Director of AIA Group Limited, Hong Kong, CNOOC Limited, Hong Kong, Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation, Hong Kong Hysan Development Company Limited, Hong Kong, and Far EasTone Telecommunications Co. Ltd., Taipei.